Scotland Times

Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Liz Truss new cabinet in full: who is in and who is out?

Liz Truss new cabinet in full: who is in and who is out?

The new prime minister has made speedy changes to her top team and cleared out Rishi Sunak supporters

Here’s the full list of cabinet appointments at the end of Liz Truss’s first day as prime minister.

Who is in?

The new cabinet

*  Liz Truss, prime minister

*  Thérèse Coffey, deputy prime minister and health and social care secretary

*  Kwasi Kwarteng, chancellor of the exchequer

*  James Cleverly, foreign secretary

*  Suella Braverman, home secretary

*  Ben Wallace, defence secretary

*  Brandon Lewis, justice secretary and lord chancellor

*  Nadhim Zahawi, chancellor of the duchy of Lancaster, minister for intergovernmental relations and minister for equalities

*  Penny Mordaunt, leader of the House of Commons and lord president of the council

*  Lord True, Lord privy seal and leader of the House of Lords

*  Jake Berry, minister without portfolio and Conservative party chairman

*  Alok Sharma, Cop26 president

*  Jacob Rees-Mogg, business, energy and industrial strategy secretary

*  Simon Clarke, levelling up, housing and communities secretary

*  Kemi Badenoch, international trade secretary and president of the board of trade

*  Chloe Smith, work and pensions secretary

*  Kit Malthouse, education secretary

*  Ranil Jayawardena, environment secretary

*  Anne-Marie Trevelyan, transport secretary

*  Michelle Donelan, culture secretary

*  Chris Heaton-Harris, Northern Ireland secretary

*  Alister Jack, Scotland secretary

*  Robert Buckland, Wales secretary

Attending cabinet

*  Wendy Morton, chief whip and parliamentary secretary to the Treasury

*  Chris Philp, chief secretary to the Treasury

*  Michael Ellis QC, attorney general

*  Edward Argar, paymaster general and minister for the Cabinet Office

*  Vicky Ford, minister for development at the Foreign Office

*  Tom Tugendhat, minister for security at the home department

*  James Heappey, minister for the armed forces and veterans at the Ministry of Defence

*  Graham Stuart, minister for climate at the business department

Who is out?

Boris Johnson, former prime minister

Priti Patel, former home secretary

Dominic Raab, former justice secretary and deputy PM

*  Nadine Dorries, former culture secretary

*  Grant Shapps, former transport secretary

*  Steve Barclay, former health secretary

*  Greg Clark, former levelling-up secretary

*  George Eustice, former environment secretary

*  Shailesh Vara, former Northern Ireland secretary


Related Articles

Scotland Times
UK Island Orkney council to look at proposals to become territory of Norway
Woman Awarded Over £100,000 After Being Fired for Transgender Tweet
A provocative study suggests: Left-Wing Extremism and its Unsettling Connection to Psychopathy and Narcissism
A Real woman
Brand new security footage has just been released to the public showing the Active shooter Audrey Elizabeth Hale drove to Covenant Church School in her Honda Fit this morning, parked, and shot her way into the building
China's foreign ministry branch in Hong Kong urges British gov't to stop the biased and double standards Hong Kong report
Double standards: UK lawmakers attack EU chief over Ireland claims
Democracy? Not for UK. UK PM rejects Scottish independence referendum, cancel democracy in BVI
UK urged to brace for economic storm
Women's own body dissatisfaction appears to influence their judgment of other women's body sizes
Prince William To Move Family Into Cottage Near Queen Elizabeth II
BOOOOOOS: Tony Blair receives royal honour
Captured Britons sentenced to death in Ukraine
Barbados PM Mia A. Mottley among Time Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People
Today's headlines
"Just One Of the Boys In School:" Years That Shaped Prince Charles
BVI Premier Rubbishes Claim Of Causing COI Delay
Comments on "Human Intelligence in a Digital Age" - A brilliant Speech by MI6 Chief Richard Moore, and the elephants neglected in the room
Bitcoin: BoE Deputy Gov wants to cancel democracy and protect the banks with regulations which infringe on people’s freedom, independence and benefits they get from their own money.
What are the Pandora Papers?
Taiwan-China relations at their 'worst in 40 years'
The attempt to hold accountable for the content of its clients' websites is like blaming Gutenberg for the NYT's fake news that dragged the US into the pointless war against the nuclear weapons Iraq never had