Scotland Times

Saturday, Feb 04, 2023

Government resignations: Who has gone, who is staying?

Government resignations: Who has gone, who is staying?

Rishi Sunak and Sajid Javid have resigned from Boris Johnson's cabinet.

The PM has filled these two key roles with Nadhim Zahawi as chancellor, and Steve Barclay as health secretary, but he now also has a number of ministerial jobs to consider, as resignations continue to mount.

Simon Hart, secretary of state for Wales, became the latest cabinet minister to announce his resignation on Wednesday.

So who is staying and who is going?



* Chancellor Rishi Sunak
* Health Secretary Sajid Javid
* Simon Hart, secretary of state for Wales


* Will Quince, education minister
* Alex Chalk, solicitor general
* Robin Walker, education minister
* John Glen, Treasury minister
* Victoria Atkins, justice minister
* Jo Churchill, environment minister
* Stuart Andrew, housing minister
* Kemi Badenoch, levelling up minister
* Neil O'Brien, levelling up minister
* Alex Burghart, education minister
* Lee Rowley, business minister
* Julia Lopez, culture minister
* Mims Davies, work and pensions minister
* Rachel Maclean, Home Office minister
* Mike Freer, equalities minister
* Edward Argar, health minister

Parliamentary private secretaries

* Jonathan Gullis, Northern Ireland Office
* Saqib Bhatti, Department of Health and Social Care
* Nicola Richards, Department of Transport
* Virginia Crosbie, Welsh Office
* Laura Trott, Department of Transport
* Felicity Buchan, Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
* Selaine Saxby, Treasury
* Claire Coutinho, Treasury
* David Johnston, Department for Education
* Duncan Baker, Department for Levelling Up
* Craig Williams, Treasury
* Mark Logan, Northern Ireland Office
* Sara Britcliffe, Department for Education
* Ruth Edwards, Scottish Office
* Peter Gibson, Department for International Trade
* James Sunderland, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
* Jacob Young, Department for Levelling Up
* Mark Fletcher, Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
* James Daly, Department for Work and Pensions
* Danny Kruger, Department for Levelling Up


* Bim Afolami, vice-chairman of the Conservative Party for youth
* Andrew Murrison, trade envoy to Morocco
* Theodora Clarke, trade envoy to Kenya
* David Duguid, trade envoy to Angola and Zambia
* David Mundell, trade envoy for New Zealand


* Levelling Up Secretary Michael Gove

Still undeclared

* Attorney General Suella Braverman
* Welsh Secretary Simon Hart
* Cabinet Office Minister Michael Ellis
* Home Office Minister Kit Malthouse
* Cabinet Office Minister Nigel Adams
* Leader of the House of Lords Baroness Evans

Intentions clear: staying in the cabinet

Michael Ellis, Mark Spencer, Kwasi Kwarteng, Michael Gove, Priti Patel, Steve Barclay, Dominic Raab, Liz Truss and Ben Wallace at a cabinet meeting

* New Chancellor Nadhim Zahawi
* New Health Secretary Steve Barclay
* New Education Secretary Michelle Donelan
* Deputy PM and Justice Secretary Dominic Raab
* Home Secretary Priti Patel
* Defence Secretary Ben Wallace
* Business Secretary Kwasi Kwarteng
* Foreign Secretary Liz Truss
* Scotland Secretary Alister Jack
* Northern Ireland Secretary Brandon Lewis
* Environment Secretary George Eustice
* Leader of the House Mark Spencer
* Culture Secretary Nadine Dorries
* Work and Pensions Secretary Therese Coffey
* Transport Secretary Grant Shapps
* Brexit opportunities minister Jacob Rees-Mogg
* Chief Whip Chris Heaton-Harris
* Chief Secretary to the Treasury Simon Clarke
* International Trade Secretary Anne-Marie Trevelyan


Related Articles

Scotland Times